This is the "Speech & Debate Resources" page of the "Speech / Debates" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University Homepage Receive Email Alerts About This Guide Ask A Librarian

Speech / Debates   Tags: debate, persuasion, rhetoric, speech  

Resources to provide "position overviews" and reliable facts to support your speech or debate position. Find a topic, timeline/history and pro/con arguments
Last Updated: Jun 16, 2014 URL: http://campusguides.stjohns.edu/spe1000c Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Speech & Debate Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Suggest a Speech Resource

Locating Sources

Text and Animated tutorials to help you track down resources in Philosophy

Helpful Databases for Persuasive Speech

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive
    Offers reports on timely topics, written by experts in the field. Helps for finding a topic, or offering research for a topic you have already chosen. Note especially the parts of each report entitled Pro/Con and Chronology.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
    Searching by topic defaults to Pro/Con research (frombook format). Also allows searching for keywords, and narrowing research to scholarly journals.
  • TED: Ideas worth spreading
    Founded in 1984 as a conference under the auspices of Technology, Entertainment, and Design. In video format the expert speakers are talking about a variety of subjects in 18 minutes or less

Recommended Databases

  • ProQuest Direct
    Includes scholarly and popular articles and dissertations from a broad range of disciplines. Great starting place for research.
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
  • ScienceDirect
    Covers Physical Sciences, Business, Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    The Legal Research database offers federal and state case law, codes and statutes, law reviews and news, selected international law, patent research, and law directories.

Incorporating resources

Links to tutorials on managing your research and citing your sources, in order to avoid unintentional plagiarism.

MLA (Modern Language Association)

Please note that MLA has a new 7th edition (2009).  Although the sites below offer helpful guidelines, please refer refer to the MLA guide (available at the Reference Desk) for most recent details. Please note that MLA has made access to web-based samples contingent upon buying their book.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip