Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
University Homepage Receive Email Alerts About This Guide Ask A Librarian

CampusGuides Home - Kathryn Shaughnessy

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Prof. Kathryn Shaughnessy
Logo - LinkedInLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info:
St. Augustine Library
Queens Campus
718-990-1454
Skype: kgshaughnessy
Office Location: SAH 312C
Please use the gray "schedule appointment" button to arrange for tech/research help, in person or online

Guides

Academic Podcasting Initiative
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
Academic-quality podcast resources, created at St. John's University
APC -- Academic Planning Committee
by Maura Flannery, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Nov 25, 2012
This guide was created to help the community be aware of the work that APC is doing, and to solicit comments from from an academic viewpoint. We value the input of our academic colleagues in all schools, across all campuses.
Banned Books, Intellectual Freedom, Access to Information
by Caroline Fuchs, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Sep 26, 2011
Guide to the academic and social justice issues surrounding challenged books and access to information
Business Writing
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Some samples/sources to improve your Business Research and Writing
Tags: english_composition, ict_literacy
Campus Guides Toolkit
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
A guide to help would-be Campus Guides contributors share best practices!
Career Research
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Mar 15, 2014
How to go about looking up the training required for a career and how to look up the employment outlook for that career
Catholic Relief Services: Multidisciplinary Resources for Faculty
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jul 15, 2014
CRS, the official international humanitarian relief and development agency of the U.S. Catholic Church, works with vulnerable communities in 100 countries around the world.
Tags: global issues, global_literacy, social justice, social_justice
Catholic Social Justice and Catholic Social Teaching
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jul 10, 2014
Reviews tenets of Teachings on Catholic Social Justice, and provides examples of applications of Social Justice in different academic disciplines.
Tags: catholic_social_teaching, gdsj, global issues, ozinam_scholars, philosophy, religion, social justice, social_justice, theology
Citation Tools / Bibliographic Managers
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Feb 20, 2014
Automate your gathering of bibliographic information, and create your own database of resources using one of these computer-aided bibliographic/citation managers
Citing Sources Ethically and Avoiding Plagiarism
by Kathryn Shaughnessy, Ben Turner - Last Updated Jun 3, 2014
Information on why to cite, how to cite, on using various citation styles and on avoiding plagiarism
Tags: dny, english_composition, literature, scholarly_publishing, turnitin
College Guides
by Kathryn Shaughnessy, Anthony Todman - Last Updated Sep 17, 2012
A good starting point for finding college and graduate school guides
Communications & Media
by Kathryn Shaughnessy, Anthony Todman - Last Updated Nov 13, 2013
A good starting point for finding communications and Media resources
Tags: ict_literacy, scholarly_communication, social_web
Country Studies
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Nov 15, 2012
Tags: gdsj
Dissertations & Theses
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jul 2, 2014
A good starting point for finding doctoral dissertations and Masters Theses, by St. John's students and others
Tags: dissertation_requirements, gdsj, ict_literacy, refworks, rss, scholarly_communication, scholarly_publishing, theses, thesis_requirements
Downloading e-books and e-research to your computer/e-reader (Tutorial)
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 17, 2014
Covers using a computer to read electronic book and electronic article files offline; also covers downloading these materials to the Nook Simple Touch, Kindle 3G Keyboard, iPad, Google Nexus, Galaxy Tablet and Microsoft Surface
EduTech Hardware
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 17, 2014
Info to aid in the exploration of newer devices, including iPads, Kindles, Nooks, Google Nexus, Galaxy Tablet, and MS surface, (as well as Lenovo and Mac basics) and info on how to download e-books and e-research to any of them!
Electronic Portfolios and Digication
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 17, 2014
Info on the different uses of electronic portfolios. Links to the help site for Digication, St. John's eportfolio tool. Shows how to use eportfolios for career search and advancement. Shows how educators can use eportfolios to assess student work.
Ethnic Studies
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
A good starting point for finding ethnic studies resources
Tags: gdsj, social_justice
FMG: Films On Demand
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated May 5, 2014
How to watch licensed films online.
Tags: art, black_history, correction, discover_new_york, dny, history, justice, legal, literature, new_york_city, religion
Founder's Week 2012: Faithful Citizenship
by Cynthia Chambers, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jul 16, 2013
Resources in support of research regarding the Founder's week theme of Faithful Citizenship; exploring the role of the Church in understanding Migration and Immigration at the local, regional, national and Global levels.
Galaxy Tablet
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
Global Development & Social Justice (GDSJ)
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jul 1, 2014
Supplement to the "Resources by Subject" pages, this guide offers web-based news, resources and help for GDSJ cohorts. Current students, faculty and alumni are encouraged to post public (non-proprietary) resources that they have created/found helpful
Tags: environmental_science, ethics, gdsj, justice, political_science, religion, social_justice, thesis_requirements
Google Tools for Collaboration
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
Guides related to getting the most out of Google Tools. Includes: Creating a Google Account, Google Scholar, Google Drive, Google Maps, etc.
Higher Education News
by James Benson, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Dec 29, 2012
This Guide is designed to help the reader follow news about higher education.
Tags: higher_education
HIS 701—World History Seminar in Women’s and Gender History
by Elaine Carey, Kathryn Shaughnessy, Lara Vapnek, Roberta Villalon - Last Updated Nov 19, 2013
Advanced research and analysis of topics in women’s and gender history, from a world history perspective. Students will be introduced to key theoretical concepts in the field and will study comparative examples of gender systems in the world.
Tags: gender dimensions of research, global issues, history, social justice, women gender feminism, women's studies
InfoGraphics & Charts
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
Tools to help present your ideas in a visual way for greater clarity or impact
Instructor-Managed E-reserves tutorial
by Dorothy McGovern, Virginia Salvione, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
Instructions for professors who wish to manage their own e-reserves account.
Japan and the World
by Elaine Carey, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Mar 7, 2014
This library guide emerged from an NCC Team-Building Workshop that took place August 12-14, 2013 at the Harvard University Center for Government and International Studies (CGIS).
Tags: 1000c, 1010, asia, history, japan
Language & Linguistics
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Oct 3, 2011
A good starting point for finding language and linguistics resources
Language Community Study
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jan 19, 2011
In support of Sophie Bell's ENG 1000C
Libtech Computer Basics
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
Whether moving from a MicroSoft to Apple OS, or if you need some basic info on your SJU laptop, MAC or Lenovo, this guide offers the basics, compiling tutorials and helpful links
Literacy Resources
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
Research and library resources covering various aspects of literacy
Literary Criticism Overview
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Oct 17, 2013
Finding secondary sources for Literary Criticism Research
Tags: ahmad, demarco, fenster, literary_criticism, mccarthy
Literature Review & Peer-Reviewed, Scholarly Sources
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jan 14, 2014
Understanding the role of Literature review in Scholarly Information Exchange
Lower East Side / East Village 1950-
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
Support guide for DNY Lower East Side studies
Martone MGD
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Sep 16, 2011
Media & Communication Ethics - Media Literacy
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
A brief guide to Media Literacy covering critical thinking and accuracy, access to information in scholarly and popular media outlets, Security, Privacy, Free speech, Plagiarism, Copyright and Social Media
Tags: ethics, ict_literacy, social_web
Medieval Resources
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
Some resources to get you started on a multi-disciplinary approach to Medieval scholarship
Multi-Disciplinary Research
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Sep 26, 2013
Orientation and approaches to Multi-Disiciplinary Research
News & Journalism
by William Keogan, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Mar 6, 2014
A good starting point for finding news & Journalism resources
Off-Campus Troubleshooting: Library Resources
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
Some general guidelines for troubleshooting problems when accessing Library Resources from off-campus
Orientation to the St. Augustine Library (Queens)
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 3, 2014
Covers basics of "where do I go for help?", Library floor plans, and Research Guidance, as well as information on printing, workshops, and using library resources from off-campus.
Philosophy
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
A good starting point for finding resources in Philosophy
Tags: ethics, metaphysics, philosophy, social_justice
Podcasts for Research and Fun
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
Overview of what podcasts are, examples of podcasts by discipline, and how to create and syndicate podcasts.
Tags: dny, gdsj, ict_literacy, scholarly_communication, scholarly_publishing, social_web
Presentations: Audio Content - Working with Audio Files
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
This guide offers help creating audio files, from "on-the-fly interviewing" (e.g.: using Photobabble, Voki, etc.) to "polished recordings" that incorporate creative-commons music, chapters and citations (using Audacity) and as well as hosting tips
Presentations: Audio/Video - Working with Moving Images
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
Covers working with editing audio as part of A/V files, and working with video files including recording and editing video, creating screencasts, and syndicating video.
Presentations: Platforms & Devices for Engaging Presentations
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jul 2, 2014
Content, audience, and the relationship between ideas are important factors in designing an effective presentation; this guide covers a few platforms/tools so you can decide which tool/s fit best. Covers: Voicethread, Prezi, Glogster, WordPress, Polling
Presentations: Visual Content - Working with Photos, Graphics, Charts and Maps
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 17, 2014
Covers tools for creating, finding, hosting and re-purposing visual content. Guides include Using Digital photos & Images, InfoGraphics & Charts, Using GoogleMaps, Mind Mapping
Privacy, Copyright, Plagiarism -- Ethics and the Social Web
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jul 16, 2014
The advent of the social web means that web-based items can easily be created, hosted, re-used in a variety of ways; This guide covers the basics of the attending considerations of proper sharing, citing, plagiarizing, copyright and creative commons
Tags: discover_new_york, dny, ict_literacy, l.e.a.d, library science
Public Relations - Sports
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
Public Relation resources in support of Prof. Angarola's Sports Management PR course
Queens Library Workshop Schedule (St. Augustine Library)
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
Register to attend one of the Research-oriented workshops sponsored by the Queens Campus Library, or request a research-oriented workshop for your organization / department / class
Tags: database_tutorial, discover_new_york, dny, english_composition, gdsj, global_literacy, ozinam_scholars, research, student engagement, student veterans, veterans services
Referrals for Library Assistance
by Dorothy McGovern, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 19, 2014
Key information to help Faculty, Academic and Support Service departments refer students for help with library research
RefWorks Toolkit (Tutorial)
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
How-to guide for using RefWorks. Information and tutorials on starting an account, entering/importing data from various databases, managing your account, using Write-n-Cite and searching withing RefWorks.
Tags: database_tutorial, gdsj, refworks, scholarly_communication
Religion/Theology
by Cynthia Chambers, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Oct 31, 2013
A good starting point for finding resources in religion and theology
Tags: gdsj, social_justice
Research behind the "Story of Stuff", "Slavery Footprint", "Behind the Brands"
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 9, 2014
This guide looks at researching the materials, production, working conditions, distribution, consumption, and disposal of everyday items; created to support research inspired by "Story of Stuff", "Slavery Footprint" and "Behind the Brands"
Tags: eng1000c_davis, english_composition, gdsj, global issues, global_literacy, social justice, social_justice
Research Methods for Human Services
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Feb 12, 2014
Help for executing multidiscipilnary research on the Social Sciences (HSC 1100)
Tags: literature_review, ozinam_scholars, research_methods, tropnas
Research Partner: Beyond Liaison Librarianship
by Caroline Fuchs, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Nov 21, 2011
As academic librarians, we need to be recognized as potential research partners. But first we need to change the way our campus community often perceives us.
Robert's Rules
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Sep 12, 2009
Guidelines for conducting an organized, deliberative meeting
RSS for Research and Fun
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
Some information about what RSS is, how to use it, and some resources to get you started with your own RSS library
Tags: gdsj, ict_literacy, rss, scholarly_communication, scholarly_publishing, social_web
SciInq: Environmental and Medicinal Approach
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
A research support guide for Prof. Verdis's Scientific Inquiry Course
Screencasting: Definition, Uses, Examples, and Instructions
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
This guide will discuss the use of screencasting and show how to use the screen recording tool Screencast-O-Matic.
SJU Freshman Read Book 2014
by Caroline Fuchs, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jul 2, 2014
A resource guide for St. John's University Freshman Read Book (FRB) 2014 - Walk in their Shoes by Jim Ziolkowski
SJU Libraries Online workshops
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 18, 2014
Register to attend online versions of the Research and Technology workshops sponsored by the SJU Libraries, or request a workshop for your organization / department / class
SJU Library & Educational Technology Workshops
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jul 2, 2014
Register to attend an educational technology workshop for life-long learning and professional development with Information and Communication Technologies.
Social Justice Literacy
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated May 1, 2013
A guide to support Faculty and librarians in promoting Social Justice Literacy
Tags: catholic_social_teaching, global issues, ict_literacy, scholarly_communication, social_justice, teaching
Social Media: Privacy, Professionalism & Research
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
Discusses the positive uses of social media tools for research and professional development, while acknowleding and discussing pitfalls of privacy and copyright. Covers Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, and more...
Social Web for Research and Fun: ICT Literacy
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
Good Starting point for an overview of Social Web applications in Academia and beyond, and an examination of the relationships between "Social Web" development and ICT Literacy.
Tags: ict_literacy, scholarly_communication, scholarly_publishing, social_justice, social_web
Social, Ethical, Academic and Legal Dimensions of Educational Technology
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
Information literacy seeks to foster an understanding of "the economic, legal, and social issues surrounding the use of information, and access and use information ethically and legally"; This guide addresses these IL dimensions in using EduTech tools.
Speech & Speech Pathology
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Mar 15, 2014
A good starting point for finding resources for Speech & Speech Pathology
Speech / Debates
by Kathryn Shaughnessy, Anthony Todman - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
Resources to provide "position overviews" and reliable facts to support your speech or debate position. Find a topic, timeline/history and pro/con arguments
Tags: debate, persuasion, rhetoric, speech
Sports Arena Management
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Oct 3, 2011
Supplement to our Sports Resources LibGuide directing students to research regarding facilities management, in support of Prof. Angarola's class
Sports Resources
by Lucy Heckman, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Nov 26, 2013
A good starting point for finding Sport Management & Sport Business resources
St. John's University Freshman Read Book 2013
by Joseph DeLorenzo, Caroline Fuchs, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Nov 6, 2013
A resource guide for St. John's University's 2013 Freshman Read Book -- My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor
STJ Freshman Read
by Caroline Fuchs, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Feb 11, 2013
Resources to enhance discussions/projects/coursework related to the Freshman Read
STJ Freshman Read 2012
by Caroline Fuchs, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Feb 3, 2014
a resource guide for St. John's University 2012 Freshman Read, Half the Sky by Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn
Tags: freshman read, global issues, oppression, social justice, women's studies
T3 (Transforming Teaching with Technology) Resources
by Clare Byrne, Maura Flannery, Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy, Ben Turner, Julia Upton - Last Updated Aug 25, 2011
The purpose of the Title III grant is to infuse technology integration, critical thinking, and information literacy into the courses at St. John's University. This site contains resources that faculty members may use in their courses.
Tech Tools for your Courses: Engage, Collaborate & Research
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
Tools for pdating an assignment or making your material more interactive: covers TedEd Lesson Platform, Google Tools, Wordpress, Social Media, e-reserves, Campusguides toolkit and Mobile Apps for education, Evernote, Citation Tools, etc
Using Digital photos & Images
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jul 23, 2014
Whether you are capturing, creating or re-distributing visual content, this guide covers considerations when sharing them in private, public or academic venues
Using GoogleMaps
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
Create private or public maps. Collaborate on a walking tour for your DNY class, lend a geographic component to your lessons, map out data in a visual way (poverty, literacy, nutrition, relief shelters)
Using Wordpress
by Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jul 2, 2014
Wordpress is an open source tool that can be used as a blog or a mini website. This guide goes over the basic tools and options within WordPress, including adding text, images, citations, and multi-media content.
Vanishing Web Resources
by Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
It is a scary thought! What would you do if the web-resource you've been relying on disappears?  This guide covers how to prepare, back-up and/or recover.
Video Syndication: YouTube & Vimeo
by Emily Griffin, Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
This guide covers how to host, share, and organize videos.
VoiceThread Presentations & Discussions
by Anastasia Chiu, Gina Marandino, Kathryn Shaughnessy - Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
This guide shows the uses of the online presentation & discussion tool VoiceThread
Tags: education, educational technology, research presentation, teaching, technology

Office Hours

Summer 2014 face-to-face (f2f) or Online appointments
Generally: please schedule an appt. via grey box (left) or email me to arrange another time
Tues: 5:30-7:00pm (online only)
Wed: 3:30-5:00 (f2f or online)
Thu: 2:30-4:00 (f2f or online)
Locate me: St. Augustine Lib 110, 312C or online
 

Upcoming Queens Workshops

How to get help with research at the QUEENS Campus

Because my teaching schedule changes from week-to-week, the best way to ensure that we connect is to email me to secure a meeting time.  We can make an appointment to "meet" by phone, in person or virtually via Skype, or other computer meeting software.

If you need help and are on the Queens campus, you can work with a Reference librarian in person by visiting the Reference Desk on the third floor of St. Augustine Library; this desk is available during hours in which the library is open.

The libraries also offer email & phone reference: you can get help from a librarian via email using the AskUs Reference service, or call the reference Desk on your campus

You can make a 1:1 Reference appointment on any of the Campuses.

NOTE: Upperclassmen, Graduate Students and Faculty will do well to get to know your subject specialist librarian. In addition to a Masters in Library and Information Science, our subject specialists librarians also have at least one other graduate degree (Masters or PhD) in their subject field. They keep on top of research resources in their subject field and make excellent collaborators in the research process, whether term paper, thesis, dissertation, or journal article or book.

 
 
Description

  Loading...