This is the "Research Workshop: Descriptions" page of the "Queens Library Workshop Schedule (St. Augustine Library)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University Homepage Receive Email Alerts About This Guide Ask A Librarian

Register to attend one of the Research-oriented workshops sponsored by the Queens Campus Library, or request a research-oriented workshop for your organization / department / class
Last Updated: Sep 2, 2014 URL: http://campusguides.stjohns.edu/QLWorkshops Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research Workshop: Descriptions Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Queens Library Research Workshop Descriptions

Note: Queens workshop times are set up to accomodate people who are on campus at different times on different days of the week.  If you or a colleague would benefit from attending a workshop, but you are unable to make any of the scheduled workshop times, please email the workshop presenter (listed on the "register" page) or the LibGuide author (on the related LibGuide)  to set up a convenient day/time for a one-on-one appointment or to schedule a workshop for your class, club, thesis support group, organization, etc.

MOBILE VERSION/Combined Calendar of all SJU Library workshops (Staten Island, Queens, Online)


WEEK OF WELCOME:  Stuff You Need to Know about the Library:

When is the library open? How can I renew a book? Can I print in the library? In this interactive workshop, attendees will be introduced to essential information about the University Libraries.    Week of Welcome event -- No Registration Required.

Wed      Sep 03    11:00am – 12:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307
Wed      Sep 03    2:00pm – 3:00pm         St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307
Thu       Sep 04    11:00am – 12:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307
Thu       Sep 04    2:00pm – 3:00pm          St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307


GENERAL LIBRARY RESEARCH WORKSHOPS

Library Basics: Orientation to the SJU Libraries 
The University Libraries provide a wide variety of print and electronic resources to meet your research needs. This workshop will familiarize you with the basic tools for research and scholarship. Transfer students, Graduate students, new faculty as well as returning faculty and students! --   Related LibGuide: Orientation to the St. Augustine Hall Library (Queens)

Tue      Sep 09      4:00pm – 5:00pm       St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307   register
Tue      Sep 30      4:00pm – 5:00pm      St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307  register

Term Paper Research 
Need help with your research? This workshop covers all the bases, and includes choosing a research topic, making a broad topic more specific, finding scholarly sources to support your thesis, evaluating sources, citing sources and avoiding plagiarism. ---Related LibGuide: Research Survival Guide

Tue      Sep 16    11:00am – 12:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room307   register 
Mon     Oct 29      2:00pm - 3:00 pm        Online   register
Thu      Oct 16     11:00am – 12:00pm     Online   register 
Wed     Nov 12      9:30am – 10:30am       St. Augustine Hall Library, Room307   register 
Mon      Nov 24      2:00pm – 3:00pm         St. Augustine Hall Library, Room307  register


E-Books For Research / handling e-book files
Whether
you are off-continent or just off-campus, this session will help you find current e-books, or digitized classics for your scholarly research. ---   Related LibGuide: Electronic Books

           Wed, Aug 13  10:30am - 11:30am  St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 & Online    register


Database Secrets for research --
This session will show you how to use periodical databases to locate scholarly journal articles on any topic, and how to access those articles either online or in print.  --- Related LibGuide: Finding Scholarly Articles  


CITING SOURCES AND BILBIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT

Plagiarism: Ethics & Citation  (with LEAD / DNY):   The session will include a definition of plagiarism, an identification of various forms of plagiarism, a discussion of why plagiarism is a serious issue both in academia and society at large, common ways that plagiarizers get caught, the consequences of plagiarism, and the ways to avoid plagiarism. --   Related Libguide: Privacy, Copyright, Plagiarism -- Ethics and the Web

Wed      Oct 01    9:30am – 10:20am     D'Angelo 408   register 
Wed      Nov 12   12:40pm – 1:30pm     D'Angelo 407


RefWorks: Citation manager for research:   Cite sources more easily, more quickly, and more accurately by using RefWorks! This workshop will show you how to create a RefWorks account, where you can manage your research sources, create bibliographies, and insert parenthetical references or footnotes directly into a Word document, saving you valuable time in the process. --  Related LibGuide: Refworks Toolkit

Mon      Sep 22    11:00 am - 12:00 pm    Online   register 
Thu      Sep 25     10:00am – 11:00am    St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307   register    
Thu      Oct 16      4:00pm – 5:00pm        St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307
Thu      Oct 23     11:00am – 12:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307
Fri        Nov 07    11:00am – 12:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307
Thu      Nov 20    2:00pm – 3:00pm        Online

Zotero: Citation manager for research:  
Learn the basics of Zotero, a free open-source reference management tool that allows you to collect, store and organize research-related bibliographic information. The session also covers creating an account, and using an applet to  insert Zotero citations within a Word document.  Zotero runs best on the Firefox browser.  ---   Related LibGuide: Zotero

Tue      Sep 23    10:00am – 11:00am    St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307   register 
Fri        Sep 26    2:00pm – 3:00pm        Online   register 
Tue      Oct 14     4:00pm – 5:00pm        St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307
Mon     Nov 03    11:00am – 12:00pm    St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307


RESOURCES FOR SUBJECT SPECIFIC RESEARCH

Resources for subject specific research emphasizes the resources and services which the library provides, this session will  include finding scholarly information from our library and on the open Web, evaluating information, citing print/electronic sources properly within the discipline, and discipline-specific Librarian help with your academic and professional research.  

Theology Resources for Research
         Related LibGuide: Resources for Theology

Wed      Sep 17     2:00pm - 3:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library Room 307 & Online   register   

Business Resources for Research Undergraduate
         Related LibGuide: Resources for Business 

Thurs    Oct 2      10:30am - 11:30am   St. Augustine Hall Library Room 307   register 
Thurs    Oct 9       2:00pm - 3:00pm      St. Augustine Hall Library Room 307   register

Advertising/PR Resources for Research
        Related LibGuide:Advertising  Public Relations

Tues     Oct 7      11:00am  - 12:00pm  St. Augustine Hall Library Room 307   register     


Career & Job Hunting: Resources for Career Research

 Wed    Oct 8       2:00pm - 3:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library Room 307   register


Philosophy Resources for Research (Q/O)  
        Related LibGuide: Resources for Philosophy 

Wed     Oct 8       4:00pm - 5:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library Room 307 & Online   register

 

Workshops geared toward advanced research & Professional Development

Note: If you or a colleague would benefit from attending a workshop, but you are unable to make any of the scheduled workshop times, please email the Subject specialist or LibGuide author  (listed on the Corresponding LibGuide page) to set up a convenient day/time for a one-on-one appointment or to schedule a workshop for your class, club, thesis support group, organization, etc.

DISCIPLINE RESEARCH AND CAREER DEVELOPMENT

Advanced Research Workshops: emphasizes the resources and services which the library provides for specific Disciplines, including finding scholarly information from our library and on the open Web, evaluating information, citing print/electronic sources properly within the discipline, and discipline-specific Librarian help with your academic and professional research.  Related LibGuide: the related word serves as a link to the corresponding LibGuide

Advertising/PR Resources for Research
Tue      Oct 07    11:00am – 12:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room307     
Thu      Oct 30    3:30pm – 4:30pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room307

Business Resources for Research  
Thu      Oct 02    10:30am – 11:30am St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307     - Undergraduate  Resources
Thu      Oct 09    2:00pm – 3:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307     - Undergraduate  Resources
Wed     Nov 05    3:00pm – 4:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307     - Graduate Resources

Criminal Justice Resources for Research
Nov 04    11:00am – 12:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307 

Education Resources for Research

English Resources for Research
Tue      Nov 04    4:00pm – 5:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room  307

GovernmentPolitics Resources for Research
Tue      Oct 14    2:00pm – 3:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307   
Thu      Nov 06    2:00pm – 3:00pm     Online

History Resources for Research

Multidisciplinary Resources for Research

Philosophy Resources for Research
Wed      Oct 08    4:00pm – 5:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307

Social Justice Resources for Research
Wed      Oct 29    4:00pm – 5:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room307    

Sports Management Resources for Research
Tue      Oct 28    3:00pm – 4:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room307

Theology Resources for Research


Engaging with Primary Resources:  Make the most of these substantial repositories of primary resources. Attend a workshop (below) or  contact the workshop presenter on the "register" link below for more info on setting up a workshop or to make a one-on-one appointment.  Note: the title of the workshop serves as a link to the corresponding LibGuide

Catholic Relief Services (CRS) & Global Solidarity Network (GSN)

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)   
Wed      Oct 15    4:00pm – 5:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307  

 .GOV Resources  .
Thu      Nov 13    3:30pm – 4:30pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307

Historical Newspapers
Wed      Oct 22    4:00pm – 5:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307     Historical Newspapers      

UN Website and Databases  
Thu      Nov 06    3:30pm – 4:30pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307 


Resume v. E-Portfolios: Creating a professional e-portfolio that  employers are looking for
Covers how to illustrate that you have skills that employers are looking for, good organization of content in your ePortfolio, and how to design your ePortfolio to look professional. -- Related LibGuide ePortfolios to Ehance Career Opportunities

Careers and Job Hunting: Resources for Career Research
Discover what your library can do for you when it comes to your career!
Wed      Oct 08    2:00pm – 3:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307    
Thu      Oct 23    2:00pm – 3:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room 307    

Poster Presenting: Tips & Tricks:
 
Nervous about an upcoming poster presentation on your research? Pick up some tips and tricks from a university librarian. -- Related LibGuide: Research Presentation   
Tue      Nov 18    4:00pm – 5:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Library, Room307    

Thesis/Doctoral Literature Review -- Request a 1:1 appointment with your subject-specialist Librarian

For additional workshops geared towards academic & professional use of technologies, resource-creation technology and creating e-portfolios, see  the LIBRARY TECHNOLOGY WORKSHOPS http://campusguides.stjohns.edu/QLTechWorkshops

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip