NEW: RefWorks 2.0
Refworks has released a new interface -- RefWorks 2.0
It may be neccesary to download Microsoft Visual Studio Tools for Runtime at http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=44074 for Write-n-cite to install (Windows-based PC's)
- Preview the RefWorks 2.0 interface (new users)
- Find out what's new in RefWorks 2.0 (current users)
- Learn more with RefWorks webinars and tutorials
- Come to an SJU Libraries Workshop
Upcoming RefWorks Workshops (F2F & Online)
Using RefWorks to Manage/Cite Research (bibliographic manager): Cite sources more easily, more quickly, and more accurately by using RefWorks! This workshop will show you how to create a RefWorks account, where you can manage your research sources, create bibliographies, and insert parenthetical references or footnotes directly into a Word document, saving you valuable time in the process.
Fri Feb 6, 2:00pm – 3:00pm, RefWorks (O), Online meeting room register
Thu Feb 19, 2:00pm – 3:00pm, RefWorks (O), Online meeting room register
Mon Mar 16, 2:00pm – 3:00pm, RefWorks (O), Online meeting room register
Wed Mar 18, 4:00pm – 5:00pm, RefWorks (Q), Q-Library 307 register
Mon Apr 13, 2:00pm – 3:00pm, RefWorks (Q), Q-Library 307 register
If you or a colleague would benefit from attending an online appointment or workshop, please email one of the LibGuide authors (on the "related LibGuide") to set up a convenient day/time for you and/or your classmates, club, thesis support group, organization, etc. or request one using this link:
Request an online workshop or online 1:1 appointment
RefWorks Quick Guide
Accessing RefWorks: Go to http://libraries.stjohns.edu/refworks/
First time users: Sign up for a RefWorks account, following the on-screen prompts. (Note: RefWorks and Write-n-cite work are compatible with University-issued computers; for use at home and abroad, please check the compatibility requirements.)
Off-Campus Access: When accessing RefWorks from off-campus, you will need to enter your St. John’s login prior to your personal RefWorks login.
Tutorials (Fundamentals, Advanced and RefShare) -- these tutorials are self-paced so you can pause, rewind, fast forward and pick and choose which modules of information you're most interested in. You can access the tutorials via links to the left, or from within your RefWorks account (Help --> tutorials). Quick Start Guides -- these handy printouts come in a variety of languages and are a good overview and reminder of how to perform certain functions and features in RefWorks. Quick Start Guides can be accessed from the Tools area in your account.
Tutorials (Fundamentals, Advanced and RefShare) -- these tutorials are self-paced so you can pause, rewind, fast forward and pick and choose which modules of information you're most interested in. You can access the tutorials via links to the left, or from within your RefWorks account (Help --> tutorials).
Quick Start Guides -- these handy printouts come in a variety of languages and are a good overview and reminder of how to perform certain functions and features in RefWorks. Quick Start Guides can be accessed from the Tools area in your account.Contact Us: For more information or to schedule a training session for your department: email@example.com. For technical support using RefWorks contact RefWorks support (775) 327 4105.
Online Help Screens: The RefWorks Online Help menu is searchable or navigable through the table of contents. To print a topic, right click on the topic page in the Table of Contents and select Print Target or click on the topic itself and user your browser print icon. You can access the Help screen from within your RefWorks account, by clicking on Help --> Help.
Build your own reference database: Begin to build your personal database of references and articles by importing citations directly from subscription databases (ex: ProQuest, Ebsco, PubMed, CSA, etc), from the Libraries’ Catalog, from other reference manager programs (ex: EndNote or RefManager), or from website sources via RSS feeds and more. You can also enter references manually. More directions on importing resources using RefWorks.
Organize references: Create folders and let the organizing begin! One resource/article may be stored in one folder or in several folders simultaneously – ex: an article could be saved in folders for two different classes and also in a folder for curriculum committee discussion and review. More directions on folders.
Add notes: You can edit the citation records in your account, and create notes on the resource in a special NOTES field. Select a few resources and save them as an annotated bibliography! More directions on editing references.
Incorporate references directly into Word documents: Using the RefWorks application called “Write-n-Cite,” users can incorporate both parenthetical and bibliographical citations directly into documents. More information on using Write-n-Cite.
Use multiple citation formats for customized output: RefWorks allows users to arrange “output” for references, choosing from hundreds of citation styles, from the most common to a specific journal style. For example: 10 resources can be incorporated into a draft of an article using the Journal of Applied Physics style format and then the same 10 resources could be exported into a webpage file according to APA format. More on different output styles.
Search: Quick Search and Advanced Search features allow for quick retrieval of resources. More information on using search features.
Portability of Work in RefWorks
Can I still keep my database after I graduate or leave the university?
Yes. Alumni are allowed one free RefWorks account which includes: new updates and feature releases, 200 MB of file attachment storage, The ability to share your folder or account via RefShare, Free web-based training and Technical Support
Any other RefWorks user with an existing account at St. John's can purchase an individual license to the service from RefWorks at a preferred rate of $50.00 per year. If you are moving to another institution that uses RefWorks, contact RefWorks Support by phone (775) 327 4105 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org and they will work with your to transfer your existing database to the new institution.
Can I share my database/folder with colleagues within our St. John's institution? Yes, using RefShare, you can share a folder or your entire database, be sure to add the proxy URL prefix ( http://jerome.stjohns.edu:81/login?url= ) to beginning of the RefShare URL to ensure that your colleagues can access you folder when they are off-campus.
Can I share my database/folder with colleagues *outside* our institution? If your colleague is not a St. John's community member, the best way would be to export your reference data into a format that is compatible with their reference management system (RefWorks-Tagged format, BibTeX, ProCite, Reference Manager, EndNote, or any other program that supports the RIS Format -- as well as XML and Tab Delimited) consulting the directions for Exporting a Database for more information
Other Bibliographic Managers
RefWorks is compatible with a number of other bibliographic management products. You can easily convert an existing bibliographic management database (such as EndNote, ProCite, etc.) into RefWorks. For details related to importing data from other bibliographic management products, please contact RefWorks@stjohns.edu for assistance in converting your records.