This is the "America: History and Life" page of the "America: History and Life" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University Homepage Receive Email Alerts About This Guide Ask A Librarian

America: History and Life  

Last Updated: Sep 14, 2011 URL: http://campusguides.stjohns.edu/ahl Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

America: History and Life Print Page
  Search: 
 

Accsessing AHL

Start at libraries.stjohns.edu, then click on Databases, A-Z, where AHL is listed alphabetically.

If you are logging in from off-campus, you will be asked for a user name and password. These are the same as you use for St. John's Central.

 

Historical Time Period

AHL allows you to limit your search to articles about a specific time period.

On the Advanced search page, scroll down to Historical Period from, and enter the dates of the time period you are researching.


 

Basic Search

Enter terms that describe your topic, connecting them with and. For example

     censorship and World War I

 

 

Full Text vs. Print

Some articles can be accessed online through AHL, as indicated by

  • HTML Full-text
  • Linked Full-text
  • PDF Full-text

If an article is not available online click on Check for Full-text. This will tell you if is available in another database, or allow you to place an Interlibrary Loan request.


 

Advanced Search

By choosing from the drop-down menu next to the search box, you can make your search more specific, searching by

  • subject term
  • author
  • source (name of journal)
  • geographic Terms

Citing an Article

Using the "Cite" Feature in AHL: To download a citation for your bibliography, click on Cite, which you will see on the right-hand side of the article view page.

Exporting to RefWorks: Click on Export, which you will see on the right hand side of the article view page. On the following page, choose Direct Export to RefWorks, then click Save.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip